Rower

With each stroke,
the rower is left in
the river’s wake

About alarmingman

Hovering somewhere between observation, words and action...
This entry was posted in Autumn and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Rower

  1. Love this imagery and its message … the ‘zen of rowing’ …
    _/|\_

  2. leelotchka44 says:

    we seem to move somewhere,don’t we 🙂
    just beautiful

  3. smilingtoad says:

    I could just swim in your poetry for hours…yet another gorgeous bit of bliss here. Rowing is close to me heart, though I am not actually a rower, I’ve always wanted to be, and plan to take it up. There is such peace and tranquility in these words. Always deeply affecting in imagery and feeling. Brilliant!

    -Autumn Jade

    • alarmingman says:

      Thank you for your kind words, Autumn Jade. I used to row as a wee strapping lad in high school and now in my encroaching middle age I find a rowing club down the road from me in Japan, of all places. There is something very meditative about it – a sort of communing with the power of water, as it were. I was also extremely grateful that it is not a contact sport…

      • smilingtoad says:

        Yes, precisely where I find the allure- its meditative quality. I’d greatly enjoy rowing every dawn. For hours in the early morn every day I enjoy those contemplative, meditative hours, and all the more better gliding through the waters, as all of diurnal nature begins to emerge from dewy somnolence. I would have adored rowing for high school had that been available to me. Took on long-distance running, also something I find a bit meditative, especially alongside murmering creeks. I just adore that, precisely the words for it “communing with the power of water” Aye!! Lovely! Cheers,

        Autumn Jade

Leave a Reply

